Islak Kopek

Islak Köpek is a free improvisation band from Istanbul, Turkey. Its current members are Robert Reigle, Volkan Terzioglu, Sevket Akinci, Korhan Erel.

Islak Köpek’s original lineup of Korhan Erel, Şevket Akıncı, Volkan Terzioğlu and Volkan Ergen had their first performance in the summer of 2005. Following a series of performances at Galata Perform[1] and Jazz Cafe in Istanbul, Dirk Stromberg (in the band 2005 – 2007) and Robert Reigle joined the band in January 2006. The six-piece band played regular performances at Galata Perform as well as other venues and also did some recordings. Volkan Ergen left in the summer of 2006 to pursue other musical interests. The five-piece band played at Transit Improvisation Days Istanbul 2006 with Le Quan Ninh, Kirstie Simpson, Talin Buyukkurciyan, and Yanaël Plummet and then again in 2007, a sold-out concert at the Akbank Jazz Festival[2] in September 2006, at the A.M.B.E.R. Body-Process Arts Festival in 2007, The Triangle Project (a side project of the 10th Istanbul Biennial in 2007). Dirk Stromberg had to take a leave from the band to pursue his teaching career outside Turkey. With the emergence of Gitar Cafe, a cosy music venue in the Asian part of Istanbul, as a haven from experimental music, Islak Köpek started playing there regularly. Islak Köpek have released their first, self-titled album in November 2008 on the Turkish label “AK Müzik” – featuring all six current and former members. A recording in 2007 as a quintet ‘one year later, two years ago’ was released on the Turkish netlabel re:konstrukt in 2009. The band has recently recorded their third album with Holland-based German flute player Mark Alban Lotz, which will be released on the Dutch label Evil Rabbit Records in early 2011.

The band members have been doing a show on free improvisation and free jazz called “The Other Jazz” on Acik Radyo[3] (FM 94.9) since May 2006.

The band members have also had solo or collective performances in Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Italy,Ireland, Israel, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Russia, UK, USA

Islak Köpek members (in alphabetical order):

Şevket Akıncı: Electric Guitar
Korhan Erel: Computer, Controllers, Cracklebox, Analog/Digital Electronics, Melodica
Robert Reigle: Tenor saxophone
Volkan Terzioğlu: Tenor saxophone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s